School of Humanities and Social Sciences (HASS)

Location on campus

The School is located in Buildings 28 and 29 at ADFA. The main entrance is between Buildings 28 and 29, and the School shopfront is located on the ground level of Building 29. View the campus map.

Our Staff

School Executive

Name Position Ext Email Room
Lovell, Professor David Head of School 88844 d.lovell@adfa.edu.au 29-111
Zhang, Dr Jian DHOS Teaching & Administration 88859 j.zhang@adfa.edu.au 29-108
Stockings, A/Prof Craig DHOS Postgraduate & Research 88485 c.stockings@adfa.edu.au 29-208
McGee, Marg School Manager 88875 m.mcgee@adfa.edu.au 29-110

Administration

Name Position Ext Email Room
Anderson-Smith, Mrs Marilyn  Office Coordinator 88938 m.anderson-smith@adfa.edu.au 29-111
McDermott, Mrs Bernadette   Student Liaison Officer 88867 b.mcdermott@adfa.edu.au 29-111
Ramsay, Mrs Shirley School Administrator 88845 s.ramsay@adfa.edu.au 29-111

Academic Staff

Name Position Ext Email Room
Baker, Dr Deane-Peter Senior Lecturer - International and Political Studies 88910 d.baker@adfa.edu.au 28-211
Balint, Dr Peter Senior Lecturer - International and Political Studies
Honours and CDF Coordinator
88239 p.balint@adfa.edu.au 28-203
Blaazer, Dr David Senior Lecturer - History
Associate Dean (Education)
88878 d.blaazer@adfa.edu.au 28-115
Brown, Dr Callum Lecturer - International and Political Studies
Chief of Air Force Fellow
88233 callum.brown@adfa.edu.au 28-219
Burke, Associate Professor Anthony Associate Professor - International and Political Studies 88913 a.burke@adfa.edu.au 29-209
Coleman, Dr Stephen Senior Lecturer - International and Political Studies 88812 s.coleman@adfa.edu.au 28-213
Connor, Dr John Senior Lecturer - History
Program Coordinator for History
89543 j.connor@adfa.edu.au 28-215
Dobos, Dr Ned Lecturer - International and Political Studies
Timetable Coordinator
86273 n.dobos@adfa.edu.au 28-204
Edwards, Dr Lindy Senior Lecturer - International and Political Studies 86258 b.edwards@adfa.edu.au 28-119
Erskine, Professor Toni Professor - International and Political Studies - Program Coordinator of International & Political Studies 86254 t.erskine@adfa.edu.au 28-205
Fernandes, Associate Prof Clinton Associate Professor - International and Political Studies 88847 c.fernandes@adfa.edu.au 29-211
Frame, Professor Tom Director, Australian Centre for the Study of Armed Conflict and Society (ACSACS)   t.frame@adfa.edu.au 29-105
Grey, Professor Jeffrey Professor - History 88869 j.grey@adfa.edu.au 29-202
Hancock, Assoc Professor Eleanor Associate Professor - History 88864 e.hancock@adfa.edu.au 29-207
Lackerstein, Dr Debbie Lecturer - History 88877 d.lackerstein@adfa.edu.au 29-214
Lines, Dr Lisa Lecturer - History 86298 l.lines@adfa.edu.au 29-210
Lone, Associate Professor Stewart Associate Professor - History 88868 s.lone@adfa.edu.au 28-106
Lovell, Professor David Head of School
Professor - International and Political Studies
88844 d.lovell@adfa.edu.au 29-111
Moore, Associate Professor Nicole Associate Professor - English
Program Coordinator of English
88856 n.moore@adfa.edu.au 28-105
Mount, Dr Gavin Lecturer - International and Political Studies
Student-Staff Liaison
88066 g.mount@adfa.edu.au 28-214
Neilson, Dr Heather Senior Lecturer - English
Master Schedule Coordinator
88908 h.neilson@adfa.edu.au 29-213
Pedersen, Dr Morten Senior Lecturer - International and Political Studies 88862 m.pedersen@adfa.edu.au 29-206
Ramsey, Dr Neil Lecturer - English 88880 n.ramsey@adfa.edu.au 28-208
Reeve, Dr John Senior Lecturer - History 88876 j.reeve@adfa.edu.au 28-212
Roberts, Associate Professor Christopher Director of Executive Education, Associate Professor - International and Political Studies 88868 c.roberts@adfa.edu.au 28-106
Sakai, Dr Minako Senior Lecturer - Indonesian
Program Coordinator of Indonesian
88904 m.sakai@adfa.edu.au 28-113
Spittel, Dr Christina Lecturer - English 88766 christina.spittel@adfa.edu.au 28-114
Stahel, Dr David Lecturer - History 88873 d.stahel@adfa.edu.au 28-209
Stanley, Professor Peter Research Professor 88902 p.stanley@adfa.edu.au 29-103
Stockings, A/Prof Craig DHOS Postgraduate & Research
Associate Professor - History
88485 c.stockings@adfa.edu.au 29-208
Tickell, Mr Paul Lecturer - Indonesian 88907 p.tickell@adfa.edu.au 29-212
Uyar, Associate Professor Mesut Associate Professor - History
Ottoman Fellow, Australian Centre for the Study of Armed Conflict and Society
88866 m.uyar@adfa.edu.au 29-201
Walker, Dr John Senior Lecturer - International and Political Studies 88854 jl.walker@adfa.edu.au 28-210
Warouw, Dr Nicolaas Lecturer - Indonesian Program 88914 n.warouw@adfa.edu.au 28-103
Zhang, Dr Jian DHOS Teaching & Administration
Senior Lecturer - International and Political Studies
88859 j.zhang@adfa.edu.au 29-108

Emeritus Professors, Research Academics and Visiting Fellows

Name Position Ext Email Room
Adams, Dr Richard   Visiting Fellow   rjpadams@gmail.com offsite
Baker, Dr Nikki   Visiting Fellow   n.baker@adfa.edu.au offsite
Botterill, Professor Linda Visiting Professor   l.botterill@adfa.edu.au offsite
Bowden, Dr Brett Visiting Fellow   b.bowden@adfa.edu.au offsite
Bowman, Dr Linda Visiting Fellow   l.bowman@adfa.edu.au offsite
Burt, Dr Sally Visiting Fellow   s.burt@adfa.edu.au offsite
Cain, Dr Frank Visiting Fellow   f.cain@adfa.edu.au offsite
Clark, Dr Christopher Visiting Fellow   chris_dc@optusnet.com.au offsite
Coates, Lieutenant-General John Visiting Fellow   j.coates@adfa.edu.au offsite
Cotton, Professor James Emeritus Professor 86251 j.cotton@adfa.edu.au 29-102
Cullens, Mr Jamie Visiting Fellow 86260 Jamie.Cullens@defence.gov.au offsite
de Heer, Mr Derrill Visiting Research Associate 88848 d.deheer@adfa.edu.au bldg13
Dennis AM, Emeritus Professor Peter Emeritus Professor 88870 p.dennis@adfa.edu.au 29-104
Doyle, Mr Jeff Visiting Fellow   j.doyle2@adfa.edu.au offsite
Eggert, Professor Paul Australian Research Council Professorial Fellow 88900 p.eggert@adfa.edu.au 28-116
Fauzi, Amelia Dr Visiting Fellow   amelia_fauzia@yahoo.com offsite
George Mulgan, Professor Aurelia Conjoint Professor   a.george-mulgan@adfa.edu.au offsite
Gilbert, Dr Gregory Visiting Fellow   g.gilbert@adfa.edu.au offsite
Goldrick, Professor James Adjunct Professor   j.goldrick@adfa.edu.au offsite
Greenhalgh, Dr Elizabeth Research Fellow 88865 e.greenhalgh@adfa.edu.au 28-117
Hall, Dr Bob Visiting Fellow 88848 b.hall@adfa.edu.au bldg13
Heseltine AO, Emeritus Professor Harry Emeritus Professor   h.heseltine@adfa.edu.au offsite
Hinchcliffe, Dr Mark Visiting Fellow   m.hinchcliffe@adfa.edu.au offsite
Jurriëns, Dr Edwin Visiting Fellow   edwin.jurriens@unimelb.edu.au offsite
Kainikara, Dr Sanu Visiting Fellow   s.kainikara@adfa.edu.au offsite
Macnaughtan, Lisa Visiting Fellow 88827 l.macnaughtan@defence.gov.au offsite
Magee, Assoc Prof Paul Visiting Fellow   Paul.magee@canberra.edu.au offsite
Nurhayati, Ms Ida Visiting Fellow   i.nurhayati@adfa.edu.au offsite
Osborne, Dr Roger Visiting Fellow  

r.osborne@uq.edu.au

offsite
Page, Mr Geoff Visiting Fellow   gpage40@bigpond.net.au offsite
Parker, Ms Rita Visiting Fellow 88872 r.parker@adfa.edu.au 28-109
Pender, Associate Professor Anne Visiting Fellow   jpender@une.edu.au  
Primoratz, Professor Igor Visiting Fellow   igorprim@gmail.com offsite
Smith, Mr Barry Visiting Fellow   b.smith@adfa.edu.au offsite
Smith, Dr Hugh Visiting Fellow   h.smith@adfa.edu.au offsite
Stevens, Dr David Visiting Fellow   david.stevens3@defence.gov.au offsite
Stevenson, Dr Robert Research Fellow
86298 r.stevenson@adfa.edu.au 29-210
Thayer, Emeritus Professor Carl Emeritus Professor 88860 c.thayer@adfa.edu.au 29-105
Wessels, Professor Andre Visiting Fellow   wesselsa@ufs.ac.za offsite
Woodman, Emeritus Professor Stewart Emeritus Professor 86251 s.woodman@adfa.edu.au 29-102
Yurtbilir, Dr Murat M Visiting Fellow 88911 M.Yurtbilir@adfa.edu.au 29-205

School of HASS Higher Degree Research Students